Telugu states bypolls: TRS and YSRCP shinesTop Stories

May 03, 2021 12:36
Telugu states bypolls: TRS and YSRCP shines

The bypolls for Tirupati Parliament constituency in Andhra Pradesh and Nagarjunasagar Assembly constituency in Telangana took place recently and the leading parties YSRCP, TRS reported a comfortable win in the bypolls. YSRCP celebrated in style after their candidate Maddila Gurumoorthy registered a thumping victory against TDP candidate Panabaka Lakshmi, the former Union Minister. BJP and Janasena alliance candidate K Ratna Prabha stood in the third place. YSRCP registered a thumping majority of 2,71,592 votes. Maddila Gurumoorthy managed to get 6,26,108 votes and TDP candidate Panabaka Lakshmi got 3,54,516 votes. The total polled votes for Tirupati are said to be 11 lakhs.

On the otherside, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) retained the Nagarjunasagar Assembly constituency. TRS candidate Nomula Bhafath won the bypoll against Congress leader K Jana Reddy with a margin of 18,449 votes. Bhagath secured 87,254 votes and Jana Reddy came closer with 68,805 votes. BJP lost its deposit in the bypoll. The bypoll was conducted after the sudden demise of the sitting MLA Nomula Narasimhaia. TRS fielded his son Nomula Bhagath while Congress brought in Jana Reddy. He also lost to Nomula Narasimhaih in the 2018 polls with a margin of 7774 votes. The elections were held on April 17th and the counting took place yesterday.

By Siva Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)