Dhoni to lead Indian Cricket team in Zimbabwe tourCricket

May 24, 2016 15:08
Dhoni to lead Indian Cricket team in Zimbabwe tour

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will lead Indian Cricket team for a limited-overs series, scheduled to happen next month against Zimbabwe. The series that starts from 11 June 2016 include three ODIs and three T20s.

The series is slated to happen at Harare Sports Club. Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal earned his maiden national call-up for the short series. He is the leading wicket-taker in the ongoing Indian Premier League. Star players like Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma are given rest and are not a part of the young 16 member squad.

The All India Senior Selection Committee of the BCCI also announced a 17-man squad for the four-Test tour of West Indies that is scheduled to happen in July-August 2016.

Mumbai-based pacer Shardul Thakur is apart of the national squad for Caribbean tour. Mohammad Sami was also recalled to the squad. Sami did not feature in international cricket since the 2015 World Cup.

Chairman of Selectors Sandeep Patil  headed the meeting, which was convened by BCCI Hony. Following names were announced by Secretary Ajay Shirke

The 17-member squad for the Test series against West Indies is as follows:
Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur,Stuart Binny.

The squad for the limited-overs series against Zimbabwe:
MS Dhoni (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Fasal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaspreet Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.

- Sumana

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)