Rohit Sharma Named as the New T20 Captain for IndiaCricket

November 10, 2021 17:50
Rohit Sharma Named as the New T20 Captain for India

(Image source from:

Team India has been a hot favorite in the T20 World Cup but the team had to pack their bags without making it to the semis because of the back-to-back defeats. Indian skipper Virat Kohli also wanted the series to be memorable as he decided to step down from the captain's role after the T20 World Cup. Rohit Sharma who has been serving as the vice-captain for Team India is now promoted as the new captain of Team India. Virat Kohli has been serving Team India as the T20 Captain from 2017. BCCI announced the new squad for the T20 series against New Zealand.

Rohit Sharma is named as the captain for the tournament officially. KL Rahul is named as the vice-captain for Team India. Virat Kohli decided to take a break for the T20 series with New Zealand and he will join the team for the test series and for the South African tour. There are talks that Rohit Sharrma will lead Team India as the captain in ODIs too.

Here is the T20 squad of India for New Zealand Tour:

Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj.

By Siva Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)