No Confidence Motion: TDP Says Modi Govt Betrayed Andhra Pradesh, No-Trust Vote to Take Place TodayTop Stories

July 20, 2018 11:30
No Confidence Motion: TDP Says Modi Govt Betrayed Andhra Pradesh, No-Trust Vote to Take Place Today

(Image source from: Hindustan Times)

The Lok Sabha on Friday debated a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government moved by the opposition.

The government has said it is self-assured of its numbers and that it was looking forward to a debate in which it can showcase its achievements during the initial no-trust vote on the floor of Parliament in 15 years.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), an alienated ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government, moved the no-confidence motion on Wednesday, which was admitted by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

The no-confidence motion has the support of the Congress, Trinamool Congress (TMC), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Communist Party of India (Marxist), or CPI(M), a bitter rival of the TMC, among others.

The ruling party, nevertheless, has an easy numerical edge with 273 members in the House with an effective strength of 533, excluding the Speaker.

Is this time sufficient for us to highlight issues of 130 crore Indians and faults of this govt? Each party should get 30 minutes, but 38 minutes have been allotted to the largest opposition party. The no-confidence motion can't be treated like question hour, says Mallikarjun Kharge of Indian National Congress (INC).

Notably, Shiv Sena lashed out at BJP in its mouthpiece 'Saamana', accusing it of using allies only when the need arises. The editorial also said the "no-confidence motion is not to dissolve the government, but to make it stand like an accused in a cage and peal its skin".

Lok Sabha convenes to discuss and take the no-confidence motion on the third day of monsoon session.

Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan says the no-trust vote will take place at 6 p.m. today. The lunch hour will be skipped for discourse. Opposition MPs ask her for more time to speak after reports say 38 minutes have been allotted for the Congress party leaders to address Parliament.

Biju Janata Dal Members of Parliament have walked out of Lok Sabha, following the promise of abstaining from voting during the no-confidence motion.

TDP lawmaker Jayadeep Galla initiates a debate on a no-confidence motion, says it is the "most important" discussion in modern Indian history. Modi government's performance and non-implementation is a "saga of empty promises". 

It is not a war between TDP and BJP. It is a war between majority and morality... it is against "Machiavellian" politics and "authoritarianism": Jayadev Galla says, adding that the Modi government has "betrayed" Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra's issues are national issues too, the lawmaker says. In response, BJP leaders protest as the Speaker asks them to return to their seats.  

By Sowmya Sangam

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)