Elections for the 55 Seats of Rajya Sabha to be held on March 26Top Stories

February 26, 2020 16:26
Elections for the 55 Seats of Rajya Sabha to be held on March 26

(Image source from: dnaindia.com)

The polling for 55 Rajya Sabha seats which are spread over 17 States and which is set to be vacated in April is said to be held on the 26th of March, as said by the Election Commission on Tuesday.

The Election Commission of India has made an announcement regarding the schedule where in it has mentioned in a statement that the term office of the 55 members of the Rajya Sabha who have been elected from around 17 States would expire on their retirement in the month of April in this year.

According to the schedule that has been made by the Election Commission of India, the notification would be issued on the 6th of March and the last date for filling the nominations is said to be by the 13th of March. The polling would be held on the 26th of March and the timing have been mentioned as 9 am to 4 pm.

The counting of the votes is said to be done on the same day at 5 in the evening.

It has been mentioned that the terms of the seven seats in Maharashtra, four in Odisha, six in Tamil Nadu and five in West Bengal would come to an end on the 2nd of April and the five seats in Bihar, four seats in Andhra Pradesh, four seats in Gujarat, three seats in Assam, three seats in Madhya Pradesh, three seats in Rajasthan, two seats each in Telangana, Chattisgarh, Haryana and Jharkhand would come to an end on the 9th of April and the one seat in Meghalaya would be vacated on the 12th of April.

Sharad Pawar who is the chief of the Nationals Congress Party, Ramdas Athawale who is the Union Minister, Tiruchi Siva who is the MP of DMK, Harivansh Narayan Singh who is the Deputy Speaker of Rajya Sabha and the other leader of Congress Motilal Vora and Digvijaya Singh and also a leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party Vijay Goel are few among the MPs whose terms would be coming to an end in the month of April.

It is be expected that the majority of the seats would be won by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party or the Opposition Congress.

By Shrithika Kushangi

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)