14 Indian States yet to Reduce VAT on Petrol and DieselTop Stories

November 06, 2021 14:10
14 Indian States yet to Reduce VAT on Petrol and Diesel

(Image source from: indiatvnews.com)

The Centre announced a cut in the excise duty on petrol and diesel by Rs 5 and Rs 10 respectively before Diwali. 22 states and union territories across the country announced a further cut in Value Added Tax (VAT) on petrol and diesel that reduced the burden on the people of the nation. However, 14 Indian states haven't announced any cut in the VAT told the Ministry of Petroleum. Maharashtra, New Delhi, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Chattisgarh, Punjab and Rajasthan are the states that did not reduce the VAT on petrol and diesel.

The union territory of Ladakh has seen the highest reduction in the price of petrol as it was reduced by Rs 13.43 per litre. Karnataka and Puducherry have reduced the petrol prices by Rs 13.35 and Rs 12.85 respectively. Ladakh also has the most reduction in the price of diesel and it is by Rs 19.61 per litre. Rajasthan is on the top of the list after petrol is sold at Rs 111.10 per litre and in Mumbai it is Rs 109.98 per litre. In Andhra Pradesh, the price of petrol per litre is Rs 109.05. Most of the BJP ruled states have reduced the prices and VAT. Rajasthan is also selling diesel at Rs 95.71 per litre which is the highest in the country and it is followed by Andhra Pradesh (Rs 95.18) and Mumbai (Rs 94.14).

By Siva Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Petrol and diesel prices