YS Jaganmohan Reddy Takes Oath as Andhra Pradesh Chief MinisterJust In

May 30, 2019 14:08
YS Jaganmohan Reddy Takes Oath as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister

(Image source from: India TV)

YS Jaganmohan Reddy on Thursday took the oath of office and secrecy at a grand public function at the Indira Gandhi Municipal International Stadium in nearby Vijayawada, becoming the second chief minister of Andhra Pradesh after its bifurcation.

Reddy was administered the oath by Governor ESL Narasimhan at 12:23 p.m.

The 46-year-old Jagan led his party to a resounding victory in the recent Assembly and Lok Sabha elections. The YSR Congress Party won 151 of the 175 seats in the state Assembly, eliminating the Telugu Desam Party headed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who became the first chief minister of the state after it was bifurcated to form out Telangana five years ago. YSRC won 22 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats.

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu has turned down an invitation to attend Jagan Mohan Reddy's swearing-in ceremony, news agency ANI has reported.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam president MK Stalin were among the dignitaries who attended the swearing-in ceremony.

By Sowmya Sangam

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Andhra Pradesh  YS Jaganmohan reddy