Hardik Pandya replaces Rohit Sharma as Mumbai Indians captainCricket

December 18, 2023 17:23
Hardik Pandya replaces Rohit Sharma as Mumbai Indians captain

(Image source from: Instagram.com/hardikpandya93)

Within one hour of announcing Hardik Pandya as their new captain for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2024 season, Mumbai Indians experienced a significant drop of 400,000 followers on Twitter. On December 15, the team revealed Pandya as the successor to the legendary Rohit Sharma, who holds an impressive record of five IPL titles. Sharma, who hasn't played T20Is for India since the 2022 T20 World Cup, will no longer lead Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024. After taking a break from cricket following India's heartbreaking loss in the 2023 World Cup final, Sharma is scheduled to make his comeback in the 2-match Test series against South Africa, commencing on December 26. This decision to appoint Pandya as captain aligns with Mumbai Indians' commitment to building a legacy and remaining future-ready, a philosophy they have upheld throughout their journey.

In line with our commitment to building a strong team for the future, Mumbai Indians has decided to appoint Hardik Pandya as captain for the upcoming IPL 2024 season," stated Mahela Jayawardene, Mumbai Indians' Global Head of Performance. Pandya, who previously played for Mumbai Indians before captaining Gujarat Titans for two years, returns to the franchise. During his time with Gujarat Titans, Pandya successfully led the team to victory in their debut season, defeating Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2022 final. In recognition of his outstanding performance, Pandya was named the player of the match after taking three wickets and scoring 34 runs. He also had a commendable run with the team in 2023, leading them to the final, although they narrowly lost to MS Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings in a thrilling last-ball encounter.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)