Congress Releases First List For Lok Sabha ElectionsTop Stories

March 08, 2019 12:11
Congress Releases First List For Lok Sabha Elections

(Image source from:

In a First list for 2019 General Elections, Indian National Congress named both Congress President Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi.

In the list of 15 candidates, it names eleven candidates from Uttar Pradesh and four from Gujarat.

Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi will contest from their family strongholds Amethi and Raebareli respectively.

The congress Thursday’s announcement of list also ends speculations about UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi retiring from active politics.

The list does include Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who joined politics recently and was made general secretary incharge of eastern Uttar Pradesh. There were reports and speculations that Priyanka Gandhi could contest from her mother constituency, Raebareli.

Amethi and Raebareli are the only seats which congress had won in 2014 Lok Sabha Polls where Bharatiya Janata Party won 71 seats alone out of 80 seats.

In Uttar Pradesh after Samajwadi party and Bahujan Samaj Party formed an alliance and decided to contest together, Congress announced that it will contest all 80 seats.

The two regionally strong parties left out congress from their alliance, but decided not to field their candidates in Amethi and Raebareli which currently held by Rahul and Sonia Gandhi.

By Sai Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)