Two UP Ministers and four MLAs step down in 24 HoursTop Stories

January 12, 2022 20:04
Two UP Ministers and four MLAs step down in 24 Hours

(Image source from:

Dara Singh Chauhan is the second minister from the cabinet of Uttar Pradesh on Wednesday ahead of the Assembly polls in the state. A total number of 6 MLAs submitted their resignation in the state. Uttar Pradesh Labour Minister Swami Prasad Maurya submitted his resignation yesterday from the state cabinet along with the membership of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Apart from the two ministers, four MLAs from the ruling party have said to have quit BJP. Dara Singh Chauhan is the Minister of Forest and Environment in Uttar Pradesh. He alleged that the backward classes in the state are neglected especially Dalits.

Uttar Pradesh is heading for Assembly polls in February and March this year. This is a huge setback for BJP in the state before the Assembly polls. Roshan Lal Verma, Brijesh Prajapati, Bhagwati Sagar and Vinay Shakya are the MLAs who resigned from their positions. All those who submitted their resignation had no faith in the leadership of Yogi Adityanath and they are unhappy with his working style. Yogi Adityanath is expected to contest from Gorakhpur or Ayodhya constituencies in the upcoming polls. On the other side, Congress MLA Naresh Saini and Samajwadi Party (SP) MLA Hari Om Yadav joined BJP. The elections in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases from February 10th and the counting will take place on March 10th.

By Siva Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
UP MLAs  Uttar Pradesh  UP polls  Yogi Adityanath